New Hampshire, Vermont, and federal laws prohibit employers from discriminating against employees and job applicants based on age. These laws prohibit discriminating against you in hiring, firing, pay, job assignments, promotions, and every other aspect of your job.
Our age discrimination clients are typically individuals who are more than 40 years old and who have experienced mistreatment such as being denied employment, having been terminated based on false accusations or behavior for which other people have not been terminated, or who have been passed over for a promotion when they are the most qualified individual for that job.
The following are some examples of age discrimination:
- Your employer fired you or forced you to retire because of your age
- Your employer reduced your pay, demoted you, denied you a promotion because of your age, or changed some other aspect of your job such as reducing your sales territory
- Your employer prefers to hire and promote younger employees
- Your employer has treated you badly because you complained about age discrimination involving yourself or someone else at your company or because you assisted in an age discrimination investigation
Our firm has significant experience representing individuals who have been discriminated against based on their age. Attorney David Cole served for approximately eight years as a Commissioner on New Hampshire’s Commission for Human Rights, the state agency that enforces New Hampshire’s discrimination laws in the workplace, and has aggressively advocated for victims of illegal discrimination and harassment in the workplace, in housing, and in their private lives for 30 years.
If you or someone you know is in need of legal assistance because they are the victim of age discrimination, call our office at 800-909-LAWS (5297) or submit an online questionnaire through this website. All cases are subject to a statute of limitations that limit the dates within which a lawsuit may be brought, and discrimination cases in particular have very short statutes of limitation, some as short as six months, so call without delay to ensure you do not waive your right to bring a lawsuit to enforce your rights.