If you have been injured in a car accident, slip and fall, or another type of accident or incident due to someone else’s negligence or wrongdoing, you can pursue compensation through a personal injury lawsuit. A you probably know, there are time limits for taking legal action. These deadlines are unforgiving. If you fail to file your lawsuit before the statute of limitations expires, you lose your right to sue. So, you may be wondering how the COVID-19 pandemic will affect your ability to meet your deadlines and what you should do to protect your claim. To find out how your unique case will be affected, talk to an experienced New Hampshire personal injury attorney today.
Very Limited Extension in New Hampshire
On March 13, 2020 Governor Sununu declared a State of Emergency for the state. Following the declaration, the Supreme Court of New Hampshire issued an order that statutes of limitations and statutes of repose set to expire between March 16 and April 6, 2020 are extended until April 7, 2020.
The extension only applies to cases set to expire during the designated time period. Is it possible that could change? Yes, things are changing rapidly, and we don’t know when normal court business will truly be able to resume. But you shouldn’t gamble on it.
New Hampshire Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations for personal injury, in New Hampshire, is three years. That means, you have three years from the date you were injured to file your lawsuit. Additional deadlines and time limits may also apply to your case.
For instance, in cases involving defective products, you only have three years from the date of your injury or the date that you discovered or should have discovered that your injury was caused by the defect to file your lawsuit, and only 12 years from the time that the product left the manufacturer’s possession. So, if the product was 11 years old hen you were injured, you only have one year to file.
To learn more about the time limits and deadlines in your case, call the Cole Law Office at (800) 909-LAWS (5297) or contact us online.