New Hampshire is the only state that does not require drivers to carry liability insurance. But state law does require that when a driver chooses to purchase liability insurance, it also includes uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. This protects you and your passengers if you are in an accident with an at-fault driver who was not insured, or you are injured in a hit-and-run. If you have chosen to purchase more than the minimum liability coverage, your UM/UIM coverage automatically increased to the amount of your liability coverage unless you refused the increase.
If you were injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver, an experienced New Hampshire motor vehicle accident attorney can help you recover fair compensation from your own insurance company.
Insured, but Not Enough to Pay Your Bills
The purpose of uninsured motorist coverage probably seems obvious, but the underinsured portions is just as important. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), about 90% of New Hampshire drivers were insured in 2015. But, many or most of those drivers only carry the minimum coverage of $25,000 for injuries per person or $50,000 total if more than one person is injured.
$25,000 may sound like a lot, but if you were seriously injured, your medical bills can be more than twice that, sometimes into the hundreds of thousands. That’s where the underinsured part comes in. Your underinsured coverage helps pay for your medical expenses that are above the policy limits of the at-fault driver.
The Cole Law Office is here to help you and your family pursue all avenues of compensation after a serious car crash. Please, call us today at (800) 909-LAWS (5297) or email us to schedule your free consultation.